Mt. Tallac Hike

Posted on Updated on

 

When I left the house this morning, I had no idea what adventure I was in for. Overall it was an incredible, and grueling. Soon after we began the hike, the trail was covered in river rock. We noted that it would have been a good idea to bring very thick shoes or hiking boots. About a mile in, we saw the most spectacular waterfall on the whole hike, which you can see in the photo below. We continued through the forested area, which paralleled a stream. As we gained elevation, we noted the surrounding peaks which still contained some snow. We couldn’t help but discuss which peaks we would like to ride in the winter.

As we continued, the amount of mosquitoes increased, and we were constantly swatting them off of us. We noted mosquito repellent would have been a nice item. The trail led us to a series of boulders, which we deiced to climb. The rock stacks other hikers had left indicated we must be going the right way. After scrambling for a suspicious amount of time, one of us spotted the trail in the distance. We got back on the trail, and the hike was much easier. Soon after we stopped for lunch, and I felt foolish for not bringing more food. I forgot how hungry long hikes make me. Fortunately we brought a ton of water, which kept us hydrated and refreshed all day.

Eventually we arrived at Gilmore Lake, a classic alpine Sierra Mtn Lake. It was amazing, as you can see from the photo below. We didn’t stay for long due to the mosquitoes, and we continued up. The 40 minutes leading to the summit were tough. The trail was steep and the high elevation made it difficult to breathe. Once at the summit, the obstacles we had faced were well worth it. We had a 360 degree view of Lake Tahoe, Fallen Leaf Lake, Lake Aloha, and Emerald Bay. Check out the pictures below!

Although it was a great trip, I have no desire to do it again. Our trip totaled about 7 hours, I’m sunburned and I’m going to be covered in mosquito bites tomorrow. Mt. Tallac was something I’ve been wanting to conquer for awhile and I’m happy to check it off the list. It’s one of those hikes that you have to do at least once. It’s probably not a hike you will do often, unless you’re a hardcore mountain goat. Hikes like this one reinforce my love for Reno. I think it’s so unique I can be on top of a huge mountain in Tahoe and back at my house in Reno in the same day. If you have hiked Tallac, tell me about your experience in a comment! If you have hiked to one of the other destinations around Tallac, what would you recommend?

The Waterfall!

photo (14)

Chris climbing a huge tree early in the hike. Lucky he survived.

photo (15)

Rock stacks marking the way.

photo (16)

EJ and I at Gilmore Lake

IMG_0370

At the summit.

photo (17)

 

Amazing Views!

photo (19)

Maybe we will return in the winter to ride?

photo (18)

 

 

Leave a Reply

