Review: The MBA Program at UNR

Posted on Updated on

Let me begin by saying you need to get your MBA for the right reasons: If you are looking to make a career change from another field to the business world then it’s a good option, especially considering you don’t need any educational background in business to be accepted. That was my purpose for pursuing the program. If you’re looking to advance your career by getting your MBA, it may not be a good decision. Unless your company vows to promote you once an MBA is achieved, I would argue your time and money is best spent working to earn a promotion, or gain the necessary credentials and experience to transfer to another company.

Jim McClenahan_350If you’re interested in the program for networking purposes, I would say it’s ok. When I started over 2 years ago, there wasn’t any formal networking in place. Now I have helped create the Nevada Business Connection Club, which should assist in creating a platform for MBA students to network with each other, as well as business professionals in the community. This effort and similar efforts are being promoted with the assistance of Jim McClenahan, Director of Corporate Outreach. You can see his beautiful face to the left. I’m confident that networking within the program will grow sustainably from this point forward. (Photo Credit)

The Program was ranked at the #4 part time MBA program in the country for the last few years, one slot above Berkeley’s part time program. Unfortunately we dropped to #24 this year. The program gets ranked on criteria such as affordability, #students per class, etc. I have certainly learned a lot in the program, and more importantly it has changed the way I think about business. However, I think there is room for improvement.

Here is the course curriculum for the MBA program. In my opinion, all of the core classes are not valuable. They’re almost no different than undergrad classes and they usually don’t add true value to real working environments. I think they should be revised completely. The “breadth” and elective courses have generally been much more valuable, and the level of value really depends on which classes you pick. Most of them require group projects/presentations and much of the coursework revolves around case studies. Therefore there is good real world application. Certain professors provoke discussions where you better learn to think on your feet, as you will get called on randomly. These are my favorite classes, as they are engaging.

The program is a lot of work, but it has given me a good business background that I didn’t have previously. Overall, I’m MUCH more satisfiedd with my education at UNR than I was at the University of Oregon, where I received my undergrad. I’m currently taking ENT 693 Entrepreneurship Topics, and it’s one of the best classes I’ve ever taken in my life. It would be great if the core courses in the program were restructured in an entrepreneurial context. For example: rather than learn about operations in a broad, forgettable manner, you would have to build a company and make the operations efficient by applying the concepts you learn in class. If you found some information in this article useful, buy me a beer the next time you see me.

Leave a Reply

