Reno Coffee Shops

Posted on Updated on

I often have meetings in coffee shops and therefore I’ve had the opportunity to experience many locations around town. I’ll pick a few of my favorites to discuss below. Allow me to warn you, I’m not a coffee snob and I’m not as picky as some people. This post will be perfect for someone who is newer to coffee or someone who is unfamiliar with coffee shops in the Reno area.

1. The Hub Coffee:      (Photo Credit)

coffee-smilThis place has amazing coffee. I already told you I’m not a coffee snob, but this is probably the only place where I take a sip and I say, “Wow, that is good.” When I don’t feel like something fancy, like a Latte or an Americano, I ask the knowledgeable staff what coffee they have available and they describe the coffee’s location of origin as well as the taste. It’s the only coffee I will drink black. They have a location in midtown and a location in downtown. I really dislike the midtown location because it’s too small. The downtown location is much more open and the scenery is beautiful, as it’s right across the street from the river. On warmer days, you can sit outside next to a medium-sized grass area, and you can admire the trees lining the road. My only complaint about the downtown location is that there are not a lot of seats that face each other, which is not ideal for meetings. The seating is either on a bench or bars stool.

2. Bibo Coffee:

I have meetings in the South Meadows location more than any other coffee shop. The coffee is good, but it doesn’t enlighten my taste buds as much as The Hub. That being said, you better believe the taste will be more unique than what you will find at Starbucks. The layout is fairly open, which I like. There are many tables that face each other, which is ideal for meetings. There are also a few padded chairs in the front, which you can grab if you’re lucky. (They aren’t ideal for a meeting because they’re too relaxing.) This location has a few tables out front to enjoy warm days, but the space is limited. Overall it’s probably the best option for the south meadows area.

3. Coffee Bar:

I have only been here a couple of times, but it’s probably my favorite venue. The layout, lights and atmosphere in general is very cool. That being said, it’s usually so crowded that you may not be able to find a seat at one of the numerous tables, and you may have to wait to order your coffee. Once you receive it, you can expect to be satisfied, as the coffee is pretty good. Due to the large crowds and inconvenient location, I usually avoid this place. The location is ideal if you live on the Old Southwest, but otherwise it’s more difficult to get to than some other coffee shops. I think its location makes it ideal for residents in the area, but not ideal for business meetings, (unless both businesses are located in midtown.)

4. Swill Coffee:

This location is probably most famous for hosting 1 million cups, a weekly event which serves the purpose of connecting entrepreneurs in the area. There is far more seating there than at any other location I have mentioned. In fact, the venue has 2 rooms, making it as large as some restaurants in town. I don’t remember being particularly impressed by the coffee, but the service I have encountered has been very good: I remember approaching the counter on one of those morning where you just don’t want to be alive. The woman behind the counter greeted me with smile and a perky attitude, which improved my day immediately. No other employee stood out to me at other coffee shops. If you’re looking for a good location to meet a group of people, go to Swill. If you’re looking to grab a cup of coffee by yourself, you may have tastier options.

If you’re a coffee snob, I want to hear your opinion. Leave me a comment and let me know what you like/dislike.

 

2 thoughts on “Reno Coffee Shops

    Cheryl J. Lake said:
    April 9, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Eric –
    Great take on some local coffee shops. I have to say that I love The Hub! My husband and I often ride bikes along the Truckee and really look forward to our pit stop at the Hub. It’s a great local shop and an ideal location for just relaxing, enjoying a drink and watching the scenery.
    Keep up the great work on your blog!
    Cheryl J. Lake
    CherylJLake.wordpress.com

      ericrswenson12 responded:
      April 15, 2014 at 12:17 am

      Hey Cheryl, thanks for the kind words! The Hub downtown really is a treat and I’m excited to hear that you enjoy it as much as me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

