Truckee: Reno’s Lovely neighbor

Posted on Updated on

As evident by my posts below, Reno is a great place. The fact that it’s neighbors with Truckee and the rest of Tahoe is yet another reason it’s great. Truckee is only about 35 minutes away, (depending on where you live,) but it feels like a different world. It’s the exact opposite of Reno in many ways, which provides a great opportunity to escape one’s daily routine. I will share why Truckee is such a nice compliment to Reno by sharing a story of my past weekend.

It’s 6pm on Friday night. I’m still in the office because I’m finalizing one more quote I must provide for a client. The week has been stressful, and the stress is continuing to build as I realize I’m going to be incredibly late for the dinner reservations my Mom booked for 6:45 at Pianeta in downtown Truckee. (Pianeta serves very good Italian food.) I rush home, throw my belongings in the car and I’m off.

As I drive I notice the scenery changing from the bare hills of Reno to snow-capped mountains with large pine trees everywhere. I roll down my window at the agricultural check station and I get hit by a blast of fresh mountain air, which is noticeably colder than Reno. Finally I arrive in downtown Truckee. It’s little and simple, and many of the buildings date back to the early 1900’s. It’s nothing like downtown Reno. (Click here if you’re curious about places to eat and things to do in Truckee.)

(Photo Credit)
Image

Outside of Pianeta last Friday 3/3/14
Pianeta

After dinner I return to the cabin my grandfather built in the late 1970’s, one of the first houses in Tahoe Donner, a place I have been visiting since I was a baby. As soon as I walk in, the reason I love visiting Truckee is reinforced: It’s like being on vacation! It’s extremely close to my home, but it feels very distant due to the profound differences between the two places. People come from all over the country to visit Truckee/Tahoe and I can easily make day trips there. I’m so lucky!

Even the culture of Truckee is radically different. I would say Reno’s culture is pretty diverse: There are college students, middle-class families and there’s still a strong sense of “cowboy culture.” Truckee is a little mountain town with a much more hippy type of vibe. You can find evidence of that if you attend a Truckee Thursday event in the summer. If you love enjoying the outdoors, you have something in common with everyone in Truckee, since everyone lives there to enjoy the outdoors. There is abundant hiking, biking, dirt biking and more. Here is one example of an easy hike that starts toward the top of Tahoe Donner and ends in Negro Canyon, overlooking Donner Lake as seen below.

Image

Perhaps I’m biased because I have been visiting Truckee my entire life and I used to work for the Town of Truckee, but I still feel like I’m on vacation every time I go. It’s a great way for me to recharge so I can work hard through the week. It’s also a nice change of scenery. Leave me a comment and let me know what you like about Truckee. If you have a good photo of an activity you pursued there, post it!

Leave a Reply

