Reno Business

Posted on Updated on

Reno is becoming a well Renown place to do business. (Do you see what I did there?) It’s not surprising considering the various incentives for businesses, the low cost of living, high quality of life and the close proximity to the bay area. A recent example: The Kauffman Foundation recently rated Reno-Sparks as the #1 Most Entrepreneurial Metropolitan Areas for per capita startups having five to 49 employees. An increasing number of companies are relocating to the area and I’m optimistic Reno will explode in growth over time.

EDAWN is the organization that brings companies to the area. Since my company, International City Mortgage, is the only mortgage company who is a Gold Investor with EDAWN, I receive advance notices regarding the companies moving to the area. I can tell you that it’s very exciting to see growth in Reno, although I would prefer to see more companies with higher paying jobs. One of the more exciting stories recently: The Reno Stead Airport has been selected to be 1 of 6 drone test site for the FAA. It will bring thousands of skilled workers with an average salary of $62,000 to the area, and it will generate about $2.5 BILLION in economic impact! 

Some of the big name companies in Reno include Microsoft, Intuit, IGT, Patagonia, Amazon, UNR, Renown, soon to be Apple,  and more. I’m a loan officer at a mortgage bank in town, and my industry employs many people as well: Some of the Realty Companies include Dickson, Remax, Keller Williams, Coldwell Banker, Realty Corner, Home Gate Realty, Trans-Action Realty 500, Krch, and more. Some of the title companies include: First American Title, North American Title, Ticor Title, Western Title, First Centennial and more. The best mortgage bank is obviously International City Mortgage, my employer, but some other good companies include Prime Lending, Guild Mortgage and Summit Funding. Reno is  also undergoing a “tech boom” in the downtown corridor along the river, and the area is supposed to develop into Reno’s tech hub. The area has been dubbed start up row, and it now has a website to follow the activity. In summary, there are a lot more companies in Reno than you might have thought and I’m excited to see that number grow.

Allow me to take a minute for a little shameless self promotion: I’m a loan officer for International City Mortgage, a residential mortgage banker established in 1987 who now has about 30 branches across the west coast. To my knowledge we are the only mortgage company in Reno who relocated out corporate headquarters to the area. I have all the important decision makers in my office, the CEO, VP, CFO, Director of Secondary Marketing, etc,  which means you can guarantee I will be held accountable for performing to the highest standards in the industry. If you’re interested in buying a house, I would be happy to provide recommendations to some of the top realtors in the area. If you’re interested in obtaining a mortgage, I would be happy to provide you with a free consultation to determine the loan scenario that will be the best financial option for you. Feel free to contact me at my office 775-376-7335 or email me at eric.swenson@icitymortgage.com.

Where do you work in Reno? What companies would you like to see in Reno? Leave me a comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

